The Fylde & Wyre Antiquarian

Discussion Forum for 'The Fylde and Wyre Antiquarian'
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:42 am

All times are UTC

Welcome
Welcome to The Fylde & Wyre Antiquarian (in association with Wyre Archaeology).

Post subject: Daggers Hall?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 12:02 pm 

Hi guys
First of all could I say what a good read this forum is, and secondly could any of you advise a complete novice as to how I go about obtaining information about Daggers Hall that once stood at the end of daggers hall lane in Marton
Many thanks Rob

Report this post

Post subject: Re: Daggers Hall?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 5:25 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Rob,

I have to 'fess up' here and say that me and Michelle don't know an awful lot about Dagger's Hall. We do know that in the 1866 Directory it was recorded as a farm owned by Elizabeth Royle, and on the 1847 O.S. map it's recorded not as Dagger's Hall, but Dagger's Hole.

Whether the hall was ever owned by any members of the Dagger family, we're not quite sure. (It seems highly likely, though.)

One possible origin of the name Dagger is as the maker of arrow heads (the surname Fletcher, of course, being the person who stuck the feathers in).

Members of the Dagger family (and I'm assuming from your forum name that you happen to be one of them) appear all over the Blackpool area, as you're probably already aware. In Kathleen Eyre's 'Seven Golden Miles' she quotes from a Mr. C. Arthur, who wrote a book entitled 'The History of the Fylde Waterworks 1861 -1911':

Quote:
"Old Billy Dagger, a gardener at Raikes' Hall, used to live in a farmhouse (on Raikes' Hill, corner of Church Street and Park Road)...and there was a pump not far away from which Dagger used to sell water at one shilling six pence a barrel and he made scores of pounds out of it."